

CHAIR DIRECTIVE

Establishment of Panels for the Purposes of Determining Applications

WHEREAS the Chair of the Commission may establish panels consisting of 2 or more members of the Commission: *Agricultural Land Commission Act (ALCA)* s.11 (1); and

WHEREAS the Chair of the Commission may establish panels based on criteria established by the Chair, which may include but are not limited to administrative regions, panel member expertise, quorum, and the type of application under consideration: (ALCA) s.11 (2); and

WHEREAS the Chair of the Commission may refer to a panel the power to determine an application and therefore the reconsideration of a decision for the purposes of s. 33 of the *ALCA* set out in s. 11.1 of the *ALCA*; and

WHEREAS the Chair may designate a member of the commission to chair a panel: ALCA s. 11(3);

I HEREBY, in my capacity as Chair of the Commission:

- without limiting my ability to establish additional or other panels for deciding these or other applications, and my discretion to refer applications to those additional or other panels, establish panels that will, subject to other direction, decide inclusion, exclusion, use and subdivision, non-adhering residential use, and soil and fill use applications in each of the six (6) administrative regions as set out in Column 1 of Table 1;
- 2. appoint the members of the Commission, identified in Column 2 of Table 1, to the panels identified in Table 1;
- 3. appoint the members of the Commission, identified in Column 3 of Table 1, as chairs of the panels identified in Column 1 of Table 1;
- 4. appoint myself as a member who may sit and decide on applications on any panel identified in Column 1 of Table 1, for the purposes of ensuring quorum on a given application or for any other identified purpose;
- 5. should I appoint myself as a member of a panel identified in Column 1 of Table 1, I may also elect to appoint myself as Panel Chair; and
- advise that member(s) from one panel may also be asked to serve on more than one panel identified in Column 1 of Table 1, at the discretion of the Chair of the Commission, if quorum or individual member expertise warrants it on an application specific basis.

Column 1 - Panel	Column 2- Panel Membership	Column 3 -Panel Chair
Interior	Bob Haywood-Farmer	Bob Haywood-Farmer
	Chad Stump	
	Brenda Schoepp	
Island	Jennifer Dyson	Jennifer Dyson
	Brenda Schoepp	
	Jeff McCallum	
	Jollen Dick (suuwayaqawilth)	
Kootenay	Jerry Thibeault	Jerry Thibeault
	Wayne Harris	
	Danna O'Donnell	
North	Janice Tapp	Janice Tapp
	Andrew Adams	
	Karen McKean	
Okanagan	Joe Deuling	Joe Dueling
	Erin Carlson	
South Coast	Ione Smith	Ione Smith
	Susie Gimse	
	Holger Schwichtenberg	

Table 1. Panels and Panel Appointments

2

Chair Dyson

December 2, 2024

Date